The Martian | Movie Review

The MartianIMDB | Letterboxd | Trailer

Having read the book, I knew what I was getting into when seeing this movie. A story heavily based on scientific facts, but still understandable through the way everything is explained. Andy Weir, the author of the book, and Drew Goddard, who wrote the screenplay, did a great job at clarifying how everything works and why everything does what it does.

Besides the science, this movie also relies heavily on the wit and humor of the lead character. Since he is left on his own on another planet, the writers really had to step up their game to make a character, who is constantly talking to himself, remain interesting to watch. They have a great balance between cutting back and forth between Mars and Earth, where other characters are able to break the monologue. When watching the trailer, this looks like a pretty serious movie with a lot of action and drama. Except it could surprise you with the amount of humour in this movie. Though I did think they did a better job in the book with that (Just look at the first sentence in the book, come on).

Mark Watney, portrayed by Matt Damon, is a well-developed character that you really get to know throughout the movie. I think Matt Damon did a great job at translating the humour onto the screen and he managed to prevent the scenes on Mars from becoming monotone and dull. Even though the other characters have less depth, they are still enjoyable and significant to the story. You can genuinely notice the chemistry between the actors. With a duration of 144 minutes, I didn’t feel that the movie was getting too tedious. Ridley Scott managed to keep the movie well-paced and not let it drag on. Based on an interesting story, this movie succeeds to captivate you from the first minute until the credits roll.

The soundtrack could have been better. Not that I disliked the disco numbers, but I just felt like they didn’t belong in this movie. Even though they made for a great joke from Whatney. As I’ve said before, the science here is understandable, but I did feel like they left some of the stuff out to make it easier. The book seemed a little bit more scientific, which I liked very much. The ending was just a little bit of a disappointment and a bit surreal even, but I won’t get into that because of spoilers (and I hate spoilers so much, I won’t do it to you).

This is an exciting movie with a great cast and great writing. It may be one of my favourite movies I’ve seen in 2015. It’s a movie I could just watch over again and again, but never get sick of. I would definitely recommend it if you haven’t already seen it yet. If you did see it, did you like it?
I’ll see you later!

BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 19 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

5 thoughts on “The Martian | Movie Review”

    1. No problem, I would hate it if that happened to me! Good idea to read the book first, because it’s great and the movie is still quite enjoyable if you already know what will happen.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great review!!! I watched this, but didn’t to the ending unfortunately. Usually Scifi movies tend to use Jargons that no one but scientists understand, but the movie did such a great job with making people who don’t know much about science appreciate this movie. I will watch the ending soon. Oh and I have to read the fucking book. Haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s really understandable and they’re explaining everything that needs explaining. Definitely read the book! It was exciting, interesting and funny at the same time. When the next novel of Andy Weir comes out, I’ll surely give it a go, because I really like what he did in the Martian.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

