Spotlight | Movie Review

Spotlight

IMDB | Letterboxd | Trailer

For anyone who didn’t notice, the Academy Awards were presented last night and, as almost every single year, I hadn’t seen any of the Best Picture contenders (except for The Martian this year). I recently thought I’d change that by watching another one, Spotlight. I guess I made the right decision as it now has won the Oscar for Best Picture and Original Screenplay. I enjoyed watching this movie, though I’m not sure if I’ll ever see it again. It’s just not that kind of movie for me personally.

Spotlight had a decent story. It’s based on true events and tells the story of a group of journalists who discover the cover-up of dozens of child abuse cases by the catholic church. It’s an important story and it’s something that according to the credits has happened in a lot of other cities and countries as well. Though I don’t if it has enough substance for a two-hour long movie. I think that if the movie had a shorter runtime and a slightly faster pace it would’ve been a somewhat different experience for me personally.

There’s not much to say about the characters as this movie is mainly driven by it’s plot rather than who we see on screen. Except for Michael Keaton and Mark Ruffalo, we don’t get to know much about the other characters. Rachel McAdams and Brian d’Arcy James are doing a great job at portraying these journalists, but that’s all there is to them. Sure, McAdams is given a backstory with her character going to church and d’Arcy by having him live near a priest, but they don’t go deeper into that. Michael Keaton is given a bit more depth as he’s also a more important character to the story, but I guess the main character is still Mark Ruffalo’s. His character, Mike Rezendes, evolves throughout the movie and goes from just a normal journalist to someone who gets deeply involved with what he’s researching and shows some real emotions.
Liev Schreiber’s character is someone I didn’t like at all. I don’t know if it’s just because of the way Schreiber portrayed him, but I felt like he had no emotions at all and was just plain boring.

While it’s not an action-packed movie, it still holds up for being a biographical drama. It’s great to watch and quite interesting at the same time. The characters could’ve been fleshed out a bit better and the pacing, for me, was a bit off. Though there’s only so much you can do when your movie is based on true events and real people.
I’m not quite sure if it was worthy of actually winning the award, but it sure deserved the nomination. I get why it has won, but I can’t really judge since I haven’t seen the other nominated movies yet. Let me know if you have seen Spotlight and how you feel about it. Did you watch the Oscars last night and did you think the right choices won?
I’ll see you later!

BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

7 thoughts on “Spotlight | Movie Review”

      1. Yeah… Me too. I haven’t read the book, but I do have it on my phone. Hehe. I just have too much books to read. I am planning of posting a review of Room, soon. Or at least when I can. Hehe

        Liked by 1 person

      2. L'eredità di Accademia grava sulle tue spalle, ormai. Sei tu l&t9;3ele#to.E' un lavoro sporco, ma qualcuno deve pur farlo.Come diceva sant'Agostino, parlando della prostituzione. E' come il pozzo nero: è una roba brutta, ma se non ci fosse i liquami invaderebbero la casa.Si vede che ho appena corretto i compiti di quarta D?

        Like

Leave a Reply

