Daredevil – season I, E1-7 | TV Review

With the arrival of the new season of Daredevil and already a second season of Jessica Jones announced, I felt like it was the perfect time to finally start watching both these series. I’m reviewing the first seven episodes of the first season below and I’ll then give you my overall thoughts so far. So if you’d rather just read that, skip to the end of the post. I’m well aware that reading this entire post can become tedious, so that’s why I’m giving you a heads-up.

Daredevil LogoIt was my plan to watch the entire season in one go after my exams, but I kind of failed in doing so. I got to around half before I had to go back to school and I’ve been so busy lately that I still haven’t finished the entire season. It also messed up my plans to watch Jessica Jones, but I’m still planning to watch that soon.

Just a few disclaimers before I begin. I’m writing these as I’m watching, so it can occur that I write something and that it, after a couple of episodes, doesn’t make sense anymore. There might also be some slight spoilers along the way, so be warned and make sure you want to read all of it.


Into the Ring
This first episode is an amazing start for an excellent series. They managed to introduce us to these characters in a great way. Even though we aren’t introduced to all of them yet. They take their time to let us properly get to know these characters. I’m enjoying the chemistry between the lead characters thus far, even from the first episode so that says something. The fight scenes aren’t polished, they’re more robust and gritty. These sequences are valuable additions as they set the tone for this series.
I like the fact that they briefly mentioned what happened during the Avengers to relate it to the rest of the MCU, but that it’s not solely relying on this connection and is more on it’s own.
We are left with a lot more questions than answers, but I’m sure we’ll get to those in later episodes.


Cut Man
Again a great episode. I like Clair, Rosario Dawson’s character. She’s not just someone to fill up time or to go along with the story. She has a mind of her own and s
In this episode it becomes rather clear that Matt is not a clear-cut superhero. He has his flaws and he doesn’t back away from doing bad things to eventually do good. Foggy and Karen, for the most part, brought some lighter moments to the episode.
The flashbacks were some nice extras as they gave some background information as to what Matt has been through. And of course there’s that amazing fight sequence in the hallway.

MARVEL'S DAREDEVIL


Rabbit in a Snowstorm
This episode was a bit less great than the previous two, but it’s still good. I’m not quite sure what Ben Urich will add to the story, but I’m liking him so far. He’s the kind of guy who will do the right thing when it comes to it and who will do his best to find out the truth. It was great to see Murdock and Nelson in court and do their job. Even though it didn’t really happen in a fair way.
At the end of the episode we also get a great introduction to Wilson Fisk, even though there’s not much revealed about him just yet.


In the Blood
This was one bloody episode. Not that the violence was too graphic, but it was just there. I really like how they coordinated the fight sequences in this series.
I must admit I don’t like the Russians. Well, not all Russians in general, but these two brothers. They seem a bit stereotypical to me. Seeing themselves as the big guys defending their name, pride and honour.
I liked how the relationship between Matt and Claire evolves. Not as in a romantic relationship, but how they interact with each other and just general character development, I guess. We also get to know Fisk a bit better and get to see how menacing he can be.


World on Fire
I like the fact that this episode is kind of split in parts. What I’m saying is that there are a few storylines going on. There’s Foggy and Karen who are helping one of their clients. There’s Matt who is doing, well, his typical Daredevil stuff. We have Fisk who is spending time with Vanessa and there’s Vladimir who is seeking revenge.I don’t really know how I feel about Vanessa. She seems a bit off. I like that it’s alternating between these storylines and yet still feel like the same story. At the end these different storylines became connected in a way and it gave a sense of uniformity.

Daredevil II


Condemned
Well, this episode was something else. I appreciate that they try to do different things within the episodes. We have a hostage situation here and we’ve already have had legal drama and just plain origin story. I started to like Vladimir a bit more in this episode. He started thinking more rationally instead of with his beliefs. The other characters didn’t have that much to do, though I didn’t mind that as I wanted to see what was going on with Matt and Vladimir.


Stick
We get introduced to Matt‘s rather mysterious mentor. Along with that character we get to know how he can do what he does. How he is able to ‘see’ so well while still being blind.
I think it’s a good thing they don’t always use every character in every single episode. It makes sure that the episodes don’t get overcrowded and that sometimes a character has nothing to do aside from wasting time away from the actual story.
It’s also good to see that Foggy will be of more use in future episodes as he’s now included on some of the secrets.


Daredevil IAfter seven episodes I get the feeling that this series is a great addition to the MCU and I’m looking forward to more of it. It definitely lived up to my expectations. There were some things I liked less, though that didn’t take away from enjoying this first part of the series. I hope I’ll be able to watch the second half and the next season very soon. Have you watched and loved Daredevil? And do you think it’s a good idea to split reviews like this up in single episodes like I did here or is it better to just write a full review about the entire season?
I’ll see you later!

BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

5 thoughts on “Daredevil – season I, E1-7 | TV Review”

  1. I agree. The fight sequences in Daredevil are awesome! Marvel always does a good job with their choreography. How about in the last Captain America movie? The fight in the elevator might have been my favorite of all time. I watched the entire season of Jessica Jones the first day it came out. It’s really good. You should get on that ASAP.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thumbs up to Marvel’s Stunt Coordinator I suppose. Yeah no, their fight scenes are always incredible. I’m looking forward to watching Jessica Jones, and there’s even already a teaser out for Luke Cage, man I’m so far behind hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Luke Cage is September. He’s a good character too. I’m so obsessed with Marvel. I was thinking about doing a special post before the movie comes out. Do you guys get the movie before or after the US release? It comes out May 6th here, and I’ll be there one that day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I definitely need to start catching up on the Netflix-series soon!
        Fortunately, we get the movie before the US does. Civil War comes out April 27th already and I’ll see it rather early as well 😁

        Like

Leave a Reply

