Orbiting Jupiter | Book Review

Orbiting Jupiter

Goodreads | Book Depository (Affiliate)

Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt, a supposedly heartbreaking story about two boys who end up looking for the daughter of one of them. I must admit, I didn’t know what to expect from this one. I’ve read a lot of positive, like really emotionally positive, reviews about this book, so I thought I’d give this one a go. Now I probably have to disappoint some of you by saying that this wasn’t the best book I’ve read.

When I received this book by mail, I was a bit confounded at first by the size of it (being that it is a very thin book). I wasn’t expecting that it would be this short, but in the end I thought it was the right size for this particular story. For the amount of events that occur in this story, I don’t think it should have been any longer.
The story itself was alright, but I think it could have used something more. I feel like the intro and getting to know the characters was going on way too long before something actually happened.

To be honest, I didn’t get emotional at all from this book. Sure, it’s a sad story, but I wasn’t really feeling it. The ending didn’t struck me as heartbreaking. Perhaps the problem I had with this book was that the build-up towards the climax was just a bit too long and that the actual climax was just a tiny bit predictable. I didn’t entirely see it coming, but I figured there must be happening something bad at the end and you kind of start thinking about what that could be.

Orbiting Jupiter is a good, short and easy read, but that’s about it. It could be that for people who usually read this kind of book are more into it, but it wasn’t for me. Perhaps if the book was slightly longer and contained more events, I would’ve liked it better. I recommend it for anyone who is looking for a quick and fairly enjoyable read.
Do you agree with what I thought or do you have some other opinions about it?
I’ll see you later!

BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

2 thoughts on “Orbiting Jupiter | Book Review”

Leave a Reply

