Listen To This II | Music

Listen To This is a series where I introduce you to some of my favourite songs at the moment. These are some of the songs that blew my mind, surprised me in some way or are just plainly awesome. I listen to these songs on repeat so often that I wonder how it’s even possible that I’m still not tired of hearing them. As I listen to music every single day and it’s a big part of my life, I feel like it’s important to let other people know some of these songs so they don’t miss out on greatness.
The images contain a link to the corresponding Spotify-page of that song, so you can just go ahead and listen to these right away and I highly encourage you to do so.


Death Row – Jimi Charles MoodyIslington
For some reason, every time I put on some music this is the song that I’ll start with. I don’t know why, but it has something that I really like.
The four songs on Islington are all great, so definitely check out those as well and especially Other Man.
I just recently found out about him and apparently he hasn’t been around for long either. As far as I can see he has only released five songs thus far. When he finally releases a full-length album, I’ll definitely be there to give it a try.


EasyFeels – Son Mieux
I can understand if you haven’t yet heard of Son Mieux. It’s a band from the Netherlands who only have three songs released, for now anyway. In 2015, they released Feels and Easy and in the beginning of this month their latest song came out called Even. Feels is probably my favourite one so far, but Even comes in as a close second.
I think they have a quite unique sound and it’s really enjoyable. They are definitely a band to look out for in the future.


Gone – JR JRJR JR
Now if this one doesn’t make you feel good, I don’t know what will. With its catchy sound and whistling this song manages to get a smile on my face every time it plays. For some reason, I feel like this could be a great song for a movie trailer or something, don’t ask me why.
This indie duo, formerly known as Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., released a new self-titled album in 2015 and every song on there is equally as good and energetic as this one. Definitely give In The Middle a try as well.


FirekidLay By Me – Firekid
This song, for some reason, makes me smile. There’s something about it that wants me to turn up my volume and just enjoy it.
He released a self-titled album in 2015, which is a bit more folksy and indie than this particular song. Though he also incorporates some electronic and pop into his songs.
I haven’t yet listened to the entire album, but the few songs I did hear are good so far.


I Can’t Go On Without You – KaleoI Can't Go On Without You
I think I have talked about this band way too often, but I just can’t help it. Not long after I published the first part in this series, Kaleo released a new song called I Can’t Go On Without You and it’s absolutely amazing.
This song is six minutes long and I love every second of it. It’s a simple song yet it always manages to make me sing along in a rather loudly manner.
Their self-titled album, which was released in 2013, is now available on Spotify and I couldn’t be happier.


HozierJackie and Wilson – Hozier 
I reckon everyone has heard of Hozier and his song Take Me To Church. It was extremely popular some time ago and it was constantly playing on the radio. Though after that I feel like he has been a bit under-appreciated.
Sure, Someone New got some attention as well, but I feel like his other songs deserve some recognition as well. I’m obsessed with his entire album. These are all great songs and I can’t get enough of them. I’m not going to pick favourites, because I simply can’t choose.


That’s it for this batch of songs. I’m really enjoying all of these songs and I hope you will like these as much as I do. Let me know what you think about them and be sure to recommend me some other songs I definitely should listen to.
I’ll see you later!

BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

8 thoughts on “Listen To This II | Music”

  1. OMG, I KNOW HOZIERS ENTIRE ALBUM AND THE SONGS THAT AREN’T ON IT BY HEART! I am not even kidding. I went to his concert last month and I felt like I was one of the only people who wholeheartedly sang along with anything besides Take Me To Church. So glad to hear you are an enthusiast as well. Have you seen the video for Cherry Wine? I love Saoirse Ronan, so it’s like two of my favourite worlds colliding.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so jealous right now hahaha I wanted to go to his concert as well, but there was no one that wanted to go with me and it was during my exams so I was seriously bummed about it.
      Oh I haven’t seen the video yet, definitely checking that out right now!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I go the tickets for Christmas and went with my mum hahaha I have no regrets! It was awesome! And Rhodes was the opening act and I love him as well, so it was great evening. I am sorry you missed out on it :/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

