Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice | Movie Review

Batman v Superman

IMDB | Letterboxd | Trailer

Batman and Superman are united on screen, at last. It’s something I had long been waiting for and now that I’ve finally seen it I must admit that I’m not convinced this was the big battle they promised us. We saw them fight, we saw them playing mind games with each other, but I feel like this movie missed a few important things and did things that weren’t necessary. Be warned as I might be discussing some spoilers.

The very first part of the movie was already a bit confusing. I thought that they were trying to introduce so many things that it didn’t make any sense. The Batman origin story was done well and wasn’t too elaborate, as we’ve seen that story once before and it would be tedious to watch it again and again. Though that in combination with the other scenes that followed made for a strange start of the movie. I think they tried to set up some things too early and without enough explanation.

The ending was a big disappointment as well. This is a movie where two great superheroes are fighting each other and yet in the end we see them work together to fight an underdeveloped villain, who doesn’t even fight them himself. Instead he, Jessie Eisenberg as Lex Luthor, creates this monster who first of all doesn’t look good and secondly only has one purpose, which is to offer these heroes a more difficult challenge to defeat.
Jessie Eisenberg did a decent job for what he was supposed to be doing, but I don’t think that this was a good interpretation of the aforementioned villain. He didn’t seem to pose a big enough threat for these two heroes to put aside their disagreements and start working together. I’m not divulging into the reason as to why they stop fighting each other, because that’s a bit too spoilery, but let’s just say that I didn’t like it.

Batman v Superman IV

There were some interesting topics raised here. I liked the fact that they put the being a superhero-thing in question. They’re saying there’s a side to being a superhero that most people don’t notice. They are seen as gods and saviours, but they aren’t perfect, at all. They’re causing destruction and are responsible for a lot of deaths. Those are consequences they will have to deal with and that’s interesting about this movie.
Furthermore, Ben Affleck was a good Batman. He was well developed, he had some good motives and the origin story was done well. What I possibly liked most about this iteration of Batman is the reason why he hated Superman and what he did about it. They made it personal. He was affected by what happened in Man of Steel and he didn’t like what Superman was doing so he took matters into his own hand. He didn’t throw in the towel, he rebelled against it and that’s what I liked. Jeremy Irons was also a good choice as Alfred. He kept things real and light to some extent. Lastly there’s Wonder Woman, she was great. She was mysterious, she stood her own against the two other heroes and she kicked some ass. I’m looking forward to her solo-movie.

Perhaps something to blame as to why I didn’t like this movie, as much as I wanted to, is the fact that I haven’t read a single DC comic yet. I’m familiar with the the backstories of these characters and who they are, but that’s it. I don’t know what is going on in the comics and who certain characters are or what certain objects do, so that may also be a reason for me not understanding all of it. This was mostly apparent during the nightmare sequences. These sequences weren’t necessary at all. I’m sure they’re about giving a bit of additional information and perhaps setting up things for next movies, but I didn’t like nor understood them.


I was hoping that this movie was going to be my big introduction into the DC-universe, despite Man of Steel being the actual first movie within that universe, but sadly enough that wasn’t the case. I’m still crossing my fingers for upcoming movies, though my expectations will probably be somewhat lower than I would like. I’m glad there were still some things about this movie that I did like and I hope it will only get better from here. Let me know what you think of this movie and maybe convince me to change my view on this movie.
I’ll see you later!

BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest
This blog now has Facebook.

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 19 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

4 thoughts on “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice | Movie Review”

    1. Yeah there have been people who were disappointed like I was, but there were also a lot of people who loved it. Perhaps if I was more familiar with the backstories I would’ve liked it more, I don’t know.
      I hope you will enjoy it, because it was still entertaining to watch 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

