I Messed Up | Tag

I was tagged by Sara from Freadomlibrary to do the I Messed Up Tag. You basically just look at things you did wrong with books or isn’t really something you should do. That’s a vague description, I know, but you’ll get what I mean when you have read the post.


A CHARACTER’S APPEARANCE THAT YOU MISREAD OR IMAGINED DIFFERENTLY
When I saw the trailer for The Girl on the Train, I felt like I imagined a lot of it differently. Some of the characters don’t look the same as they did in my head and that’s actually kind of weird, because I already knew the casting before reading this book. Emily Blunt was exactly who I pictured as Rachel, but Megan and Anna are definitely not what I had in mind.

A CHARACTER NAME THAT YOU’VE BEEN PRONOUNCING WRONG
Just pick any character from Game of Thrones. Sure, some of them are now easier to pronounce thanks to the television series, but some other still seem like they’re just some letters thrown together.

AN OVERUSED TROPE THAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE
Happy endings. A lot of books have happy endings and thankfully so, otherwise we would all be wrecks. I can really appreciate a good happy ending, though it shouldn’t be too obvious that nothing will happen to them in the end because that will take away the tension of the story.
In recent years there’s been more books that don’t have a happy ending and now that I think of it, I really like that as well. It’s got something dramatic when everything turns out good at the end, yet the main character dies or something happens to him or her.

A CLICHÉ CHARACTER TYPE THAT YOU LIKE BETTER ON SCREEN THAN READING ABOUT
I’m not sure. I kind of have the tendency to not like a certain type of character at all, whether it’s on paper or on-screen. I’m not a fan of cheesy characters or people who don’t actually get to contribute to the story. Perhaps clumsy characters. It’s funnier if you see them be clumsy on screen instead of just reading about their behaviour.

A WORD/PHRASE YOU LEARNED BECAUSE OF ITS USE IN A BOOK
This isn’t easy and I can’t actually think of something. The only thing I can say are professional jargon or very specific terms. For instance, in The Fault in Our Stars, they talk about some diseases and medical stuff and I didn’t quite understand all of it. Though then I just look it up and continue.

HAVE YOU EVER NOT READ OR COMPLETED A REQUIRED READING BOOK FOR SCHOOL?
Sure, I’ve done that a few times. Mainly just because the books weren’t interesting at all or because I didn’t have enough time to read it. I’ve done that now as well actually. We could read a book for one of our courses and earn a few points, but it wasn’t compulsory. I decided I would read Creativity Inc, but I just couldn’t take the time to read it so I ended up not reading more than fifty pages. I do want to finish it some time, but it just won’t be for school.

HAVE YOU EVER (OR WANTED TO) SKIPPED A CHAPTER FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF A CHARACTER YOU WEREN’T INTERESTED IN?
No, I didn’t. I quite like books that has chapters divided by character, because they offer different points of view. Game of Thrones has a lot of different perspectives like that and I read all of them, even though some of them aren’t equally as interesting as some of the others. I feel like I’ll miss some important story elements if I would skip a chapter.

HAVE YOU EVER CANCELLED SOCIAL PLANS TO READ A BOOK?
I haven’t cancelled anything, but I did for example make plans to read a book or watch a movie on a particular day and then I wouldn’t plan anything else on that day, even not when someone else wants to do something that day.


ShealeaAriaEstefaniRaeChloe – DzieyLashaan & Trang
RenateJoanAlyssa – Parneet – GemGiovanna – Joey – Emma


As always, if I haven’t tagged you to do this one and you still want to do it, go ahead and let me know so I can get to know your mistakes.
I’ll see you later!

Facebook – BloglovinGoodreads – LetterboxdTumblr – Pinterest


I’m still looking for guest posts, for anyone who’s interesting in writing one.
otherthingsblog@outlook.com

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 19 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

5 thoughts on “I Messed Up | Tag”

  1. I absolutely love happy endings! I often tend to dislike a book if it doesn’t have a happy, perhaps cliché, ending. Thank you for tagging me, you rock! 😀

    Like

  2. Pingback: I Messed Up Tag. |

Leave a Reply

