Birthday // Haul

It’s been exactly a month since my birthday and I’m only now doing my haul. This post is way overdue, but I do have a good reason for it. I always get these wonderful gifts from my family which I’m very thankful for. But they also always give me some money and I usually go online immediately and order a bunch of stuff. I basically wanted to wait with writing this post until everything I ordered had arrived and now that’s finally the case, except for one thing, but I can live with that.


The Flash – season one
I’m starting with something that I didn’t get for my birthday. I actually bought this one a few days before my birthday, because I still had a gift card that would soon expire. As I’ve said in a recent post, I’m really excited about watching The Flash, but I’m first going to catch up on Arrow in order to watch that universe in the correct chronological order.

Marshall Major II headphones
Music is very important to me. I listen everyday and that requires some good headphones. I used to listen with the earbuds that I got when I bought my phone, but it was time to buy something better. And when I saw these Marshall headphones being discounted, I immediately knew that I wanted them. These headphones deliver great sound and are comfortable to wear.

Revival by Stephen King
I got this one from my sister and I’m actually really excited to read it. I’ve never read anything by Stephen King and I think that’s not something I should be proud of. I have one of his other books, Joyland, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. And that while I really like the genre he’s writing. So I’m definitely going to try and read this one soon.

Jurassic World
A movie about dinosaurs that is a continuation of a praised franchise and starring Chris Pratt? Count me in! I haven’t yet watched the Jurassic Park movies and this one either, but I already have the trilogy and now I got this one from my sister’s boyfriend. This asks for a marathon and that’s exactly what I’m going to do, I’m only not sure when I’ll be doing it.

Vintage Tarbes lamp
In my previous haul I mentioned that I bought a new lamp for reading. I’m really glad I bought that lamp and now I’ve bought another one. This one doesn’t really have a specific function other than give light and look pretty. As you can see in the header image, this is a rather stylish light which is also the main reason I bought this. I had been wanting to buy this one for a while. I waited with that since I wasn’t really in need of another one, but now I finally gave in and I haven’t regretted that choice thus far.

Birthday Haul Comics

Thor: God of Thunder vol. 2-4 & Nova vol. 4
I’m a bit behind on Marvel comics. Well, I’m actually far behind to be honest. So right now, I’m trying to catch up as quickly as I can. I’m going to do that by preparing to read the Original Sin-event soon and than just almost immediately go to Secret Wars. That way, I can read some of the great new series that are coming out, like All-New All-Different Avengers, and I can still read the older series while I’m at it. For this plan to work, I still have to read some of the main series, like The Avengers, Thor and Iron Man, so that’s where this haul comes in. I’ve now bought all the volumes in the Thor-series that are needed to get to Original Sin. It isn’t exactly necessary, but since female Thor takes over the hammer after what happens during the event, I feel like it would be good to read the previous series first. No further explaining needed as to why I bought Nova vol. 4: Original Sin I guess.

Archie vol. 1: The New Riverdale
This character has been around for more than seventy years. In 2015 they announced a couple of new series with updated designs and relevant stories. I never read or even heard of the Archie comics, but now that they introduced this new universe, I was more than happy to give it a try. I already read this volume and I really liked it. It was fun reading a story that about people in high school since it’s very relatable. A review is coming soon.

Batman: Earth One vol. 1 & Wonder Woman: Earth One vol. 1
I’m currently reading Batman: Earth One vol. 1 and it’s my first ever DC read. I’ve always read Marvel and only now am I starting with reading stuff from its biggest opponent. The New 52 seemed like a great starting point for me, but I’m already very late at that since Rebirth has already begon. So I decided to start with some other series first that aren’t part of the main universe. These Earth One series are reimagining the origin stories of some of the most popular DC-characters which make them excellent for getting to know them better. Wonder Woman: Earth One vol. 1 still hasn’t been delivered yet, but when it does I’ll be reading it as part of the DC Comic Book Club on Goodreads. It’s one of this month’s reads and I’m excited to participate.

I Hate Fairyland vol. 1: Madly Ever After
This series interested me from when it got announced and the first volume came out in april. Skottie Young hasn’t disappointed me thus far and this was a great one as well, but you can read all about it in my review from last week.


Besides these I also got some tickets to go to the movie theatre and a couple of dutch comics. That concludes my birthday haul and I’d love to hear your thoughts on what I should get to first and how you liked any of these if you’ve read or watched them.
I’ll see you later!

 Goodreads – Letterboxd – Pinterest – Tumblr – Bloglovin


Q&A
I’m doing a Q&A this Friday, so if you have any questions don’t hesitate to leave them behind in the comments and I’ll answer them in my next post.

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

8 thoughts on “Birthday // Haul”

  1. Happy belated ! Looks like you got a good haul. I got so many gift cards for my bday from my family too, some that I haven’t even spent yet so I definitely understand you with the waiting. But I think I’ll just put all my birthday books in my monthly haul.

    My question is, what is your favourite childhood movie ? Can’t wait to read your Q&A, I loooooove Q&A’s hahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I guess that’s something everyone does, just waiting until those almost expire and then stressing out because it would be a waste to not use it haha
      Well, I really like hauls, so I’ll definitely check out yours! and thanks for the question, you’ll definitely see it answered 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep, you were right. Your font is small. Happy belated birthday wishes. I’ve been dying to get the new Riverdale! Will look forward to the review. Also grab the rest of fairyland. It’s GREAT!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, though I still think it’s somewhat readable. The first volume was really fun to read and I’m also looking forward to the first volume of Jughead (just 30 more days…) I’m definitely going to pick up the second volume of I Hate Fairyland when it finally comes out, really enjoyed reading that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

