It’s been half a year

It’s the first of July today, which means that we’re halfway through 2016. This year has gone by so fast already. A lot has happened since the start of this year. I went to London, I became 19, I finished my first year at college and so much more.
The reason I’m mentioning this is because the first day of July also means that my blog is nog six months old. I started this blog on January 1st. I thought I’d celebrate this with a short recap and a small Q&A.


In these six months I’ve managed to publish 54 posts, including this one. There’s a little bit of everything and I’m really glad how most of these have turned out. I’ve also recently noticed that I now have over 200 followers. I’m thankful for every single one of you and for all your support! I’ve met some amazing bloggers as well, but I’m not going to start mentioning them, because that list would be insanely big.

I currently have two features, called Listen To This and Watch These Trailers. I really like doing these and I’ll keep doing these. At some point in the future, they might undergo a change of name, as I’m not yet satisfied with how they’re called right now. On top of that, I might be looking into creating more features like these ones, but that’s just a thought for now.

I finally decided to create a Twitter account for my blog. I’ve had a personal one for a while now – Twitter says I joined in June 2012. The problem was that my followers, most of them are real life friends, would go crazy if I’d constantly tweet about blogging stuff and I primarily tweet in Dutch on that account. I thought it probably would’ve been a good idea to not do that and instead make a second account, which I did.

Go follow me @otherthingsblog.

My Goodreads Reading Challenge is kind of an embarrassment for now. I’ve read 7 out of 25 books for my goal. That’s 5 books behind schedule. Though I’m having a long vacation now so I’ll definitely try to catch up which I’m probably mostly going to do by reading comics.


Q&A
In my Birthday Haul, I announced that I would be doing a Q&A. I thought it would’ve been a good idea to celebrate the six months in that way. It’s a small one, but I was really excited to answer these questions. I did another Q&A some time ago, so don’t hesitate to go read that one as well.

What is your favourite childhood movie? Emma The Book Lover
Honestly, I can’t really remember. I know we watched the Stuart Little movies a lot, but that’s mostly because we also had a game of it on our Playstation. Besides that we used to watch Mary Poppins quite often when we went to visit our grandmother.

Best book you have read so far in 2016? – Renate, Popcorn and Film
As I’ve said earlier, I haven’t read that many books this year. In fact, I’ve only read three, because the others are mostly comics. So the best one so far will have to be The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I really liked that one and read it in a rather short time. I wrote a review about this, if you want to know more about how I liked it.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years, and what do you do? – Renate
This is a difficult one. I’d probably be working by then, hopefully. I’m hoping to be working in Branding and Identity Design, but that’s not really a certainty. I might already live in my own place. I’d love to travel a lot and perhaps go live in another country, but that’s probably not going to happen.

What’s the best thing about Belgium? – Renate
I’m not really sure. Perhaps the fact that this is a very small country and it’s easy to get from one point to another in a small amount of time. Another great thing is our food. You just have to taste our chocolate and french fries. They’re called french, but they’re definitely our speciality.


These six months have been amazing. Let’s go for six more!
I’ll see you later!

Twitter – Goodreads – Letterboxd – Pinterest – Tumblr – Bloglovin

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 19 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

32 thoughts on “It’s been half a year”

    1. Thanks! It does feel longer, but it also doesn’t. I feel like I’ve been doing this for a long time, but at the same time I feel like I’m just only beginning. That doesn’t make a lot of sense, but who cares haha I’m glad you enjoy my song recommendations! I’m working on another one right now, but don’t tell anyone 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. CONGRATULATIONS on surviving six months 😉 and achieving so much already! And I agree with you; the year has indeed gone by very quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I still can’t believe we’re already in the middle of 2016, perhaps it’s because it has been really busy this year, I’m not sure. But it surely has been a great year so far!

      Like

    1. Thanks! Yes it does, we went to the beach recently and it was just so easy to get there. Though it also has its disadvantages, but let’s not get into those haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations!!! You deserve everything that has happened and more!! I will follow your tw acc for the blog, I follow your personal one but I don’t understand a thing in Dutch 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yeah I know, it was kind of a problem and that’s why I wasn’t really following an awful lot of people on my personal account, but now I can and everyone’s able to understand what I’m saying 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

