Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell | Review

Kindred Spirits - Info.png

GoodreadsBook Depository (Affiliate)

Kindred Spirits was released in celebration of World Book Day, which I honestly had never heard of, where every year there are a few authors who write a short story that’s being sold in order to promote this day and reading in general.
I quickly want to thank Kat from Life and Other Disasters, since I won a copy of this book as part of her 3 years of blogging giveaway.


My first thoughts were: “A story about being a fan of Star Wars? I’m in.”
I hadn’t yet read a contemporary novel or even a YA one, so this one was a first in both cases. With this being a short story, you can’t really expect it to have a grand story that has a lot of elements to it. Still, Rainbow Rowell delivers a fun story that keeps you interested while not requiring a lot of thought. It’s a story that could have just as easily happen to me in real life, which made it very enjoying to read.

You can clearly notice Rowell’s research into Star Wars, or she’s just a big fan, because she’s referencing a lot of specific things. I sometimes had no clue as to what some of the things referred to or who the mentioned characters are and I even recently watched all of the movies. Though it’s not really necessary to have a basic understanding of Star Wars to enjoy this book, but it’s even more fun when you do.

What’s so great about this story are the characters. They’re all so relatable. Especially the main character Elena, who is like most of us fans. She’s super excited about the new Star Wars movie and wants to share that excitement with others. That could have easily been a description of yours truly. The same thing with Gabe. He’s a more calm guy who doesn’t really wants a lot of attention. Finally there’s Troy who is basically around to explain the concept of the story and to delight us with some fun dialogues.

DSC_0005.jpg

The fact that this is set almost entirely outside a movie theatre is very fitting to the story. It’s not a very special setting, but that’s not necessary. It’s more the underlying meaning behind it that matters. The line they’re in is important to the story and connects these characters. It’s very easy to imagine what it would look like to wait outside of a movie theatre, which enhances the reading experience.

It’s written in a very easy and fluent style. I finished this in even less time than the small amount I already thought it would take me. It has given me a reason to perhaps read more of Rowell’s books and contemporary novels in general.


This review was a short one just like the book itself. With only 62 pages you can only say so much and I just returned from my vacation this morning, which also has something to o with it. That aside, I really enjoyed reading this and it sparked my interest to read more books like this one.
Also be sure to go check out this interview on It’s Jerrod where I talk about my blogging experience.
I’ll see you later!

Twitter – Goodreads – Letterboxd – Pinterest – Tumblr – Bloglovin

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 19 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

14 thoughts on “Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell | Review”

  1. The main reason I haven’t read this yet is that I’ve never seen Star Wars *dodges tomatoes being thrown* but I love Rainbow Rowell, so I’m conflicted. Anyways, great review! I love the pics with it too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s absolutely no shame to be had when it comes to not having seen Star Wars! Before february of this year, I hadn’t seen them either so.
      It’s not really necessary to know everything about Star Wars in order to read this. Sure, it’s referenced a lot, but I think the story can still be relatable and enjoyable if you haven’t seen the movies. If you know what it’s like to be a huge fan of something and to be excited about an upcoming release, you’ll definitely be able to enjoy this short story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a coincidence! I’m currently reading a Rowell novel today. I didn’t really like my first time with her, but I don’t know, hopefully the current one will turn out much better.

    And you’re right. The premise sounds pretty fascinating. I’m glad you liked it and I would genuinely recommend that you /do/ read more YA novels!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Which one are you reading? I thought about reading Eleanor and Park if I liked this one, because my sister has that book, but apparently it’s not her greatest one so I’m not sure.
      I wasn’t really looking into reading YA specifically until I received this one and now that I’ve read it, I’ve become more interested in the genre.

      Like

      1. I just finished reading Fangirl, which I liked more than Carry On. However, I do think that the author’s writing style is quite overly hyped. There’s a lot left to be desired and I wasn’t really blown away. I’ll probably get started with my review in a few days.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Being disappointed by overhyped books is really unfortunate. I haven’t yet noticed the thing about her writing style, but that’s perhaps because I can’t really compare it to something else.
        I’ll definitely be reading your review though!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad this book sparked your interest in contemporary YA, because it will OPEN UP A WHOLE NEW WORLD! I kid you not! If you ever want to talk books in that direction, I am your girl. I just feel like YA is such an underappreciated or misunderstood genre.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m ready to enter that world haha I love how this was so relatable and easy to read!
      Now I have to admit that, by looking at my Goodreads page, I apparently have already read some YA, as in TFIOS and Orbiting Jupiter. But I feel like those are still different from what I’ve read now, especially Orbiting Jupiter.
      Are there any must-reads I should definitely consider starting with?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmmm, you already said you want to check out more Rainbow Rowell, right? Well, my contemporary favourite by her is Fangirl, but I think you said your sister has Eleanor and Park, so I guess that would be a good start. It’s not my favourite, but it’s not that bad.
        I quite like Morgan Matson. She’s like the Queen of Summer for me. Since You’ve Been Gone, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, The Unexpected Everything and Second Chance Summer are all bestsellers by her.
        If you aren’t afraid to jump into the LGBT+ scene a little, I would DEFINITELY recommend Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli or You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan.
        Other random but great titles that I love are Anna and the French Kiss (the whole series), My Life Next Door We Were Liars, The Serpent King and Pushing the Limits.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for the recommendations! Fangirl has been on my radar for a while and I’ve heard amazing things about Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I’m not too familiar with the other books you’ve mentioned, but I’ll definitely keep them in mind when I’m looking for new books 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ranbow Rowell is such a prominent figure in the book blogging community. I must see a new review of one of her books at least once a day. It’s very impressive and good for her! I’m really curious about reading her work now due to all this exposure, haha. I think I will start with either Carry On or Fangirl. But given that Kindred Spirits is less than 100 pages, perhaps that’s a good primer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re totally right! I feel like everyone in this community has either read or talked about one of her books. I think Kindred Spirits is a good place to start, it’s a quick and easy read and might give you a taste of her writing. Though I’m not sure if it can really vouch for her other books, as I haven’t read those yet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

