Are these really #Squadgoals?

Suicide Squad - Infocard.png

IMDB | Letterboxd | Trailer

A bunch of super-villains are forced to become a team and fight something even more evil. That’s the short premise of Suicide Squad, this year’s most anticipated summer blockbuster movie. It’s the third movie in the DCEU and promised us a lighter and funnier tone than the previous two and it did give us just that. It also has the most unique characters that exist in this universe, but they’re let down by an unimaginative and generic story.


The latest trend in superhero movies is that they’re not just superhero movies. They’re thrillers, space operas and action-comedies while still very much feeling like a superhero movie. This is just a superhero movie, but that doesn’t make it less fun or enjoyable. However, this is also one of the problems I had with the movie. It’s a standard story that we’ve seen countless times before. A group of heroes, or misfits in this case, come together to form a team and fight a villain that wants to destroy our world.

“We’re bad guys, it’s what we do.”

It’s not easy to introduce a whole new set of characters in one movie and giving them all a proper backstory to make us care about them. Suicide Squad gives a rundown of the characters at the beginning of the movie to introduce them, but I didn’t think that was enough. Their stories felt rushed and didn’t give us a chance at really getting to know them well. Especially Harley Quinn‘s story was told way too quickly, her and Joker‘s relationship just seems to come out of nowhere due to the fact that we didn’t have enough time to explore it.

The action wasn’t all that great either. The action scenes were mainly gun fights or fist-to-fist brawls, which doesn’t really make sense when the movie says that these characters have unique skill sets that set them apart from just a normal person. I would have loved to see more of their special abilities and see them working together more. Though I must admit, that the action we’ve got was still fun to watch.

Suicide Squad II.jpg

Even though they weren’t well-established, the characters still are the strongest point of the movie. The movie gets to its highest points when we get to see these characters interact with each other and see them deal with the situations they’re in.
It’s very apparent that Will Smith’s Deadshot and Margot Robbie’s Harley Quinn are the main characters and that they’re the driving force behind the team, since they get most of the screen time and have the most decent character development. Even though he’s a villain, Deadshot is given a story that makes him also kind of an anti-hero. You understand the reason as to why he’s a bad guy.

Margot Robbie hits the right note as Harley Quinn. She’s a very fun and crazy character who’s very interesting and unique. I already said that the relationship she has with The Joker could have been treated better, but that doesn’t take away that she works as a character. Although, I did feel that she got less and less crazy in the third part of the movie.
Jared Leto as The Joker? He was fine, I guess, but I can’t really judge him properly as he’s only in the movie for about eight minutes. He was basically turned into a plot device, which isn’t something that character deserves. His character only serves Harley Quinn‘s story in this movie and I hope that, when we get to see The Joker again, he’ll have more to do.

“Seriously, what the hell is wrong with you people?”

Viola Davis was excellent as Amanda Waller. It was impossible to like her character, which proves that she was the right choice for this role.
The other members of the Squad were fine. I wasn’t a fan of all of them, like Captain Boomerang and Katana, but I did like Diablo and Killer Croc. Specifically Diablo, because he’s given a decent backstory as well and he actually got to do something noteworthy in this movie. Captain Boomerang didn’t do it for me. I don’t know why he even got to be part of this team as someone who throws boomerangs doesn’t really seems to be useful. Katana,  Enchantress and Killer Croc were just underused and didn’t get to do that much.

They also kind of had a problem with their villain. While it was a very interesting character, there just wasn’t a real plan and the climax didn’t do the character justice. I can’t explain this any further without spoiling it, so the only thing I’ll say is that it was an underwhelming villain.


After the mess called Batman v Superman, I hoped that Suicide Squad was going to be the first DC movie that I would actually really like. Unfortunately, the movie didn’t live up to my expectations. However, I did still really enjoy watching it and would recommend it to everyone who likes superhero movies. I think that it’s a step in the right direction for the DCEU, but DC still has some work to do to really make it work.
Let me know in the comments what you thought about Suicide Squad and if it was what you expected.
I’ll see you later!


Twitter – Goodreads – Letterboxd – CreatorsPinterest – Bloglovin

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

4 thoughts on “Are these really #Squadgoals?”

  1. Good review. I think that Suicide Squad wasn’t worth the hype. It had its moments and wasn’t a complete trainwreck as some are making it out to be. Still, I was disappointed with it. From its thin story narrative, to a weak bad guy, and overstuffed cast, the movie didn’t live up to the hype. I don’t know….maybe I set my expectations too high for this film.

    Like

  2. I haven’t watched Suicide Squad [SHAME! *bells* SHAME *bells*]. Pardon me for the GoT reference. I’m actually so sad a lot of people think that Suicide Squad wasn’t good but I have yet to see it. Maybe, I have a different opinion about the movie. Also, awesome review. Thanks for this!

    Like

  3. I haven’t watched the movie yet but all I’ve read are negative reviews!!! It’s pretty disheartening, especially because I adored the movie’s trailer. I’m kind of setting my expectations pretty low now since I know for sure that the movie won’t live up to the hype. We’ll just see what happens, I guess.

    Like

  4. Did you feel like the plot was regurgitated (“heroes” with various powers beat all-powerful, non-human entity who is trying to bring apocalypse – literally the exact same premise as the latest X-Men movie!)

    Also, I just wanted to say how impressive your blog’s diversity is. Keep up the awesome work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

