Marvel And Netflix Defend Their Upcoming Series With New Trailers

As everyone is trying to build their own cinematic universe, the company that did it first is coming at us with another one. After their immensely successful MCU, Marvel is teaming up with Netflix to extend this universe to television. While this is old news, as the plans were made three years ago andΒ two series have already seen the light of day, yesterdayΒ at SDCC we got a look at what’s up ahead and how the expansion will continue.


On the first day of San Diego Comic Con, Marvel and Netflix held a joint panel where theyΒ made some announcements and released quite a few trailers.

Daredevil
The series that started it all. Daredevil was the first of four series and a miniseries to be released. These plans have already changed thanks to the success ofΒ Daredevil‘s first season, released on April 10, 2015. Only eleven days after its release, the series got renewed for a second season. The dark and realistic feel of the series is what drew most people in and is what got Marvel and Netflix to announce a third season. The two companies released their first teaser trailer for this third season.
The series starsΒ Charlie Cox as the titular character, alongside Rosario Dawson, Vincent D’Onofrio, Deborah Ann Woll, and Elden Henson withΒ John Bernthal andΒ Γ‰lodie Yung being introduced in the second series asΒ The PunisherΒ andΒ Elektra.


Jessica Jones
It’s not easy having to follow a very popular series like Daredevil, but Jessica Jones managed to do just that with its first season released on November 20, 2015. With an even darker tone and dealing with more delicate topics, this series became a hit with fans and quickly got renewed for a second season as well. There’s not much known about this second season other than that it will be filmed back-to-back with the Defenders miniseries.
Krysten Ritter is starring as the main character oppositeΒ David Tennant who takes up the role as the villainΒ Killgrave. Additional cast members are Rachael Taylor, Mike Colter and Carrie-Ann Moss.


Luke Cage
This character already got introduced inΒ Jessica Jones and is now getting his own series. Luke Cage, portrayed by Mike Colter,Β will get his first season at the end of September this year. We already got a glimpse of this series at the end of Daredevil’s second season in the form of a teaser and now we are getting a full trailer.
The series also starsΒ Mahershala Ali,Β Alfre Woodard,Β Simone MissickΒ and Theo Rossi.


Iron Fist
Danny Rand, a martial arts expert, is the fourth member ofΒ The Defenders where he’s known asΒ Iron Fist. Finn Jones, who many know from his role inΒ Game of Thrones, will be portraying the titular character. The cast also includesΒ Jessica Henwick,Β David Wenham,Β Jessica StroupΒ andΒ Tom Pelphrey.Β At SDCC, we finally got our first look at this new series
The series is set to be released somewhere in 2017.


The Defenders
This is where everything has been leading to.Β The DefendersΒ is a miniseries that sees all the main characters of the series mentioned above together as a team trying to save New York. The question, however, is if they are really capable of doing that. That’s what we’ll find out in this miniseries starring Charlie Cox, Krysten Ritter, Mike Colter and Finn Jones. The series is set to premiere probably somewhere in the second half of 2017.
Marvel and Netflix already showed a teaser at SDCC.


The Punisher
Even before the release ofΒ Daredevil‘s second season, which saw the debut ofΒ John Bernthal’s character, Marvel and Netflix announced that they were in early development on a spin-off series aboutΒ The Punisher. It is seen as a stand-alone series and is not part of the lead-up toΒ The Defenders. While there’s not a lot known about the series so far, we do know that it has been officially ordered as a series by the two companies in April of this year.


Netflix and Marvel have released a sizzle reel with footage from the past seasons ofΒ DaredevilΒ andΒ Jessica JonesΒ in anticipation of the upcomingΒ Luke Cage series.


Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.
While this isn’t one of the Netflix shows, it still isΒ a noteworthy announcement about another Marvel show.
Ghost RiderΒ has now officially been confirmed for the fourth season of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. which will premiere September 20th. The latest incarnation of the character will see Gabriel Luna take up the role of Robbie Reyes. Along with this announcement, the main cast of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. came together at the Marvel booth at SDCC to reveal the car that the character will be driving in. A teaser has been released that probably shows what the series’ title card will look like in the next season.


Those are all the teasers and trailers that have been released at SDCC by Marvel and Netflix to get you excited for what’s coming next. If you haven’t yet gotten a subscription to the streaming service, these trailers might give you a good reason to do so.
Which series are you most excited for?
I’ll see you later!


Twitter –Β GoodreadsΒ –Β LetterboxdΒ – CreatorsPinterestΒ –Β Bloglovin

Published by

Jonas

An awkward 20 year old who is obsessed with watching movies, reading books and writing about them on a blog.

4 thoughts on “Marvel And Netflix Defend Their Upcoming Series With New Trailers”

  1. I think I’m minority but I enjoyed Jessica Jones more than Daredevil and I can’t wait more of her. I’m currently watching the second season of Daredevil hoping I can catch up soon!
    Since I knew Luke would have his own series I have been so excited because I really liked him from Jessica Jones but I’ll have to see how that goes.
    I’m not a Marvel fan, being honest I’m just getting into the huge thing that Marvel is so I’m not sure who Iron Fist is or his story but I’m sure I’ll give it an opportunity.
    About The Punisher I can’t say a lot more than when I catch up with Daredevil I hope I have an opinion but anyway I’m sure I’ll give it a try too.
    Lastly, since I heard about The Defenders I have been wanting to know more and I’m really excited for that one!
    Thank you for all the news!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’ve only watched half of the first season of Daredevil thus far, which I should be terribly ashamed for, so I really need to catch up. I have no clue as to who Iron Fist is either, but I’m intrigued. The Defenders is something I’m looking forward to as well. It’s basically Netflix’s Avengers. That says enough for me! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment